3. Read Recent News Sports

Nontshinga eyes Bafana impact – Posted by Equatorial Guinea Online –

Posted by Equatorial Guinea Online –

Johannesburg – South Africa striker Siyabonga Nontshinga aims to impress in the upcoming friendlies with Equatorial Guinea, Zambia and Ghana.


Bafana Bafana will play the trio between 5-15 January, with the first test against Nzalang Nacional in Malabo next week Thursday.


Nontshinga, with three PSL goals this term, is one of four hitmen in Pitso Mosimane’s squad.


Naturally, the Jomo Cosmos player is eager for game time after only making his debut in November in a 1-1 draw with Ivory Coast in the Nelson Mandela Challenge.


“I am delighted to be named in the latest squad and looking forward to making my mark this time if selected to play,” he told Cosmos’ official website.


“It is not easy to become an international star overnight, but with the kind of orientation I’ve received from coach Jomo Sono, I guess I’m ready to make my input at international level.”


Bafana squad:


Goalkeepers: Moeneeb Josephs (Orlando Pirates), Wayne Sandilands (Mamelodi Sundowns).


Right-backs: Siboniso Gaxa (Lierse SK, Belgium), Rudiger Gilbert (Free State Stars), Anele Ngcongca (Racing Genk, Belgium).


Centre-backs: Nazeer Allie (Ajax Cape Town), Musa Bilankulu (Lamontville Golden Arrows), Morgan Gould (SuperSport United), Eric Mathoho (Bloemfontein Celtic), Siyabonga Sangweni (Orlando Pirates).


Left-backs: Punch Masenamela (Mamelodi Sundowns), Patrick Phungwayo (Bidvest Wits).


Central midfielders: Andile Jali, Oupa Manyisa (both Orlando Pirates), Thanduyise Khuboni (Lamontville Golden Arrows), George Maluleka, Granwald Scott (both Ajax Cape Town).


Attacking midfielders: Daylon Claasen (Lierse SK, Belgium), Daine Klate (Orlando Pirates), Reneilwe Letsholonyane, Siphiwe Tshabalala (both Kaizer Chiefs), May Mahlangu (Helsingborgs IF, Sweden), Mzikayise Mashaba (Free State Stars), Teko Modise, Themba Zwane (both Mamelodi Sundowns).


Strikers: Ryan Chapman (Bidvest Wits), Bradley Grobler (Goztepe SK, Turkey), Lehlohonolo Majoro (Kaizer Chiefs), Katlego Mphela (Mamelodi Sundowns), Siyabonga Nontshinga (Jomo Cosmos).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.