3. Read Recent News News


posted by – October 11th, 2012

TODAY is the Independence Day of Equatorial Guinea commemorating its freedom in 1968. Located in Central Africa, Equatorial Guinea is bordered to the north by Cameroon, to the south and east by Gabon, and to the west by the Gulf of Guinea.

The country comprises two parts: A continental region, which is composed of small offshore islands like Corisco, Elobey Grande, and Elobey Chico; and an insular region which includes Annobon and Bioko islands. The largest and capital city is Malabo.

Equatorial Guinea is the third-smallest country in continental Africa. The country’s population is around 676,000 with Spanish, French, and Portuguese as the official languages. The dominant religion is Christianity, accounting for 93% of the population.

Three main industries contribute to Equatorial Guinea’s economy: Forestry, fishing, and farming. In 1996, the country discovered substantial oil reserves which contribute significantly to government revenues. This discovery made the country the third largest oil producer in Sub-Saharan Africa in 2004.

We congratulate the people and government of Equatorial Guinea led by Their Excellencies, President Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo, Prime Minister Vicente Ehate Tomi, First Deputy Prime Minister Clemente Engonga Nguema Onguene, and Vice Presidents Ignacio Milam Tang and Teodoro Nguema Obiang Mangue, on the occasion of its Independence Day. CONGRATULATIONS AND MABUHAY!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.