3. Read Recent News News

Guinea Becomes Full CTBT Member Nation – posted by

posted by

Guinea has ratified the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty, the pact’s preparatory body announced on Tuesday (see GSN, June 15).

The African state is the 155th nation to become a full member of the global regime against nuclear test blasts. The development is “a step that further consolidates Africa’s dedication to end nuclear testing and acts as a powerful beacon for the rest of the world,” Tibor Tóth, head of the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty Organization, said in a press release.

Guinea became a CTBT signatory in October 1996.

There are only two African nations — Mauritius and Somalia — that have not signed the accord. It is also awaiting ratification by 11 African countries: Angola, Chad, Comoros, the Republic of Congo, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Gambia, Guinea Bissau, Sao Tome and Principe, Swaziland and Zimbabwe.

Egypt is among the states that must ratify the treaty before it can enter into force. The other holdouts from the group of 44 “Annex 2” nations are China, India, Indonesia, Iran, Israel, North Korea, Pakistan and the United States (see GSN, July 18; Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty Organization release, Sept. 20).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.