3. Read Recent News News

Equatorial Guinea The Undiscovered Treasure of Africa

Posted by – October 1st, 2013

This year, the world’s premiere tourism beauty pageant will crown its winner in the African nation of Equatorial Guinea.


Why Equatorial Guinea?

We’ve chosen the Republic of Equatorial Guinea as the 2013 host country because we feel that it’s a nation that hasn’t had the recognition it deserves as a great tourist destination. The Tourism World Organisation received many applications from potential hosts, but it was Equatorial Guinea’s obvious appeal as a ‘hidden gem’ which convinced us that Miss Tourism would be the perfect platform for promotion. We truly believe that this is a nation that deserves to be recognised as Central West Africa’s premier tourist destination.

A brief history of Equatorial Guinea?

Flanked by the much larger nations of Gabon and Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea is a relatively small nation with a population of just 740,000. The country has had a difficult past, both before and after achieving independence from Spain in 1968, but has recently experienced economic upturn, largely thanks to the discovery of oil under the reign of Lieutenant Colonel Obiang Nguema Mbasogo. As a result, Equatorial Guinea is investing in urban areas and infrastructure, which has opened up the area to international tourism.

Today the Republic of Equatorial Guinea is a country consisting of two distant areas: the 26,000km2 continental region, which includes the offshore islands of Corisco, Elobey Grande and Elobey Chico as well as the islets of coconut Mbaa, and Conga. The insular region consists of the islands of Bioko and Annobón, which is the only territory situated south of the equator. Equatorial Guinea is a member of the African Union (AU), the Economic and Monetary Community of Central African States (CEMAC), and the Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS). It is the only state in Africa that has Spanish as a first language, with French being the second official language, and Portuguese also in common use. The country is divided into seven provinces: Annobón, Bioko Norte, Bioko Sur, Centro Sur, Kié-Ntem, Litoral and Wele-Nzas.

The different areas of Equatorial Guinea

Equatorial Guinea is a country that offers true adventure. Travel to Bioko Island and you’ll be rewarded with stunning volcanic views, beautiful natural rainforests full of exotic wildlife and beaches home to nesting sea turtles. On the mainland, the town of Bata is a pleasant colonial town, which sits on the shores of the great Atlantic Ocean. Travelling away from this bustling town will immediately immerse you into the glorious rainforest of Monte Alen National Park – a true hidden treasure. If you’re looking for a relaxing beach break, the remote island of Corisco boasts deserted white-sand beaches and small communities where traditional culture plays a much greater part than modern influences.

Miss Tourism and the Tourism World Organisation are proud to be supporting the development of this remarkable nation.