Country Info

Sunset in Equatorial Guinea

The Republic of Equatorial Guinea is a west-central African nation comprised of a continental region between Cameroon and Gabon and several volcanic islands including the Island of Bioko where the capital of Malabo is situated, Corisco, Elobey Chico, Elobey Grande, Annobon and MbaƱe.


Population: 1,014,999 (July 2007 est.)
Population Growth Rate: 2.015%


Religion: predominantly Roman Catholic
Language: Spanish 67.6% (official), 32.4% (includes French, Fang, and Bubi)
Literacy: 85.7%


Area: 28,051 sq km
Land Boundries: Cameroon 189km, Gabon 350km
Coastline: 296km


Climate: tropical
Terrain: coastal plains rise to interior hills; islands are volcanic
Elevation Extremes: lowest point Atlantic Ocean 0m highest point Pico Basile 3,008 m
Natural Resources: Petroleum, Liquified Natural Gas, timber, gold, bauxite, diamonds, clay, sand and gravel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.