3. Read Recent News Sports

AWC: Super Falcons Eye 8th Title

Still smarting from the gains  of hosting a successful World Cup tournament this year, the attention of the continent would once  again be shifted to South Africa as the 2010 African Women Champion get underway Sunday.

The tournament would hold between October 31 to November 14.

Eight teams in two groups of four would be slugging it out for the golden trophy.

The teams would be fighting hard with a place in 2010 FIFA Women World Cup in mind, the tournament serves as qualifying platform for the world stage.

Nigeria Super Falcons are strong contenders for the title as it had dominated the African football for so long.

The Super Falcons have won the title for a record seven times since it was inaugurated in 1991.

They won it in 1991, 1995, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2004 and 2006. The last championship was hosted and won by Equatorial Guinea in 2008.

With the Nigerian team dominated by experienced and young players from the Under-17 and U-20 sides that performed well at the FIFA youth tournaments. There is rising optimism that the cup would return to Nigeria.

Nigeria who are grouped alongside hosts South Africa in Group A would begin their campaign against Mali on November 1 at the the Sinaba Stadium in Daveyton.

The South Africans who have been to the finals thrice would hope that mother luck smiles on them when they open the tournament  against the less fancied Tanzanians on Sunday.

Nigeria and South African has been tipped to emerge from this group given their experience in the championship.

In Group B defending champions Equatorial Guinea confront Cameroon on November 2, while Algeria open their campaign against  one of the contenders, Ghana.

The Guinea side would hope to re-enact their devastating form on home soil two years ago but Pundits believe that it would be harder for them to emerge from a group which includes Ghana and Cameroon.

Nigeria’s coach, Eucharia Uche has however, expressed confidence that her team would make Nigerians proud and bring the trophy home for the eight time.

She hinged her confidence on the caliber of players in her squad and the fact that most of the players chosen on current form.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.