3. Read Recent News Sports

All set for 2010 AWC draw

All set for 2010 AWC draw

The centre of attraction will be the Ekurhuleni City, South Africa on Tuesday, September 21, when the draw for the 7th African Women’s Championship comes off.
The eight participating teams including teams including hosts South Africa await the identities of their opponents for the competition slated for 31 October -14 November.
The other qualified teams are holders, Equatorial Guinea, five-time winners Nigeria, Ghana, Algeria, Mali, Cameroon and Tanzania.
From the draw, the eight teams will be housed into two groups, engage each other on a round-robin basis with the group winners and runners-up advancing to the semi final.
The champions and runners-up will represent the continent at next edition of the FIFA Women’s World slated for Germany from 26 June to 17 July, 2011.      
Of the qualified teams, Tanzania’s Twiga Stars remain the only team debuting at the biennial championship since its inception in 1998.
Nigeria’s Super Falcons, Black Queens of Ghana, Indomitable Lionesses of Cameroon and South Africa’s Banyana Banyana have participated in every single edition of the tourney since 1998 and Nigeria were five time winners in 1998, 2000, 2002, 2004 and 2006.
Holders Equatorial Guinea will be making third successive appearance whereas Mali have been at the biggest stage of women’s football since 2002.
The Lady Fennecs of Algeria’s have participated two previous editions in 2006 and 2004.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.