3. Read Recent News Sports

7th AWC begins today in S/Africa

Sunday, 31 October 2010

THE  seventh African Women’s Championship (AWC) begins today in South Africa with the host, Banyana Banyana facing Twiga Stars  of  Tanzania in the opening group A match scheduled for the Sinaba Stadium. South Africa, which twice hosted the AWC twice (2000 and 2004) lost 1-2 in the final of ich began in 1998.  the last edition to host, Equatorial Guinea.Nigeria has won five of the six previous finals of the championship which began in 1998.

The Super Falcons handled by Coach Joseph Ladipo were dethroned at the last championship by Equatorial Guinea but came back home with bronze medal.

Meanwhile, South Africa Football Association’s chairperson on Women’s Football, Nomsa Mahlangu has expressed confidence in the ability of Banyana Banyana to pick a World Cup ticket to Germany 2011.

Mahlangu, who congratulated the 21 players selected for the African challenge on noted that the team has what it takes to qualify for the World Cup for the first time.

“The Banyana Banyana class of 2010 carries the hopes and dreams of our football-loving nation and we hope that our national senior women’s team can finish this superb football year in the best way possible by qualifying for their first FIFA Women’s World Cup campaign,” Mahlangu said.

The South African squad is made up of goalkeepers Roxanne Barker, Thoko Mndaweni, Yolula Tsawe with defenders as Simphiwe Dludlu (capt), Amanda Sister, Janine van Wyk, Yola Jafta, Nthabeleng Modiko, Simphiwe Masina.

The midfielders are Sana Mollo, Nocawe Skiti, Mary Ntsweng, Elson Matjila, Gabisile Hlumbane, Kylie Ann Louw, Mamello Makhabane, Jermaine Seoposenwe, while the team’s strikers listed for the competition include Amanda Dlamini, Noko Matlou, Leandra Smeda and Mamphasha Popela.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.