3. Read Recent News Sports

Hamilton picks Nkwocha for CAF award

Perpetua Nkwocha © Backpagepix

Hamilton picks Nkwocha for CAF award

by Humphrey Njoku 06 December 2010, 00:25

Former Super Falcons coach Paul Hamilton has said he was not surprised that the Confederation of African Football (CAF) made it a Nigerian contest for its 2010 women’s footballer of the year shortlist.

Caf on Saturday named Super Falcons goal heroin at the 7th African women championship (AWC) in South Africa Perpetua Nkwocha, the most valuable player of the same tournament Stella Mbachu and Under-20 revelation Ebere Orji for the exalted best woman footballer award.

Hamilton who will always refer the sore incidence of 2008 when Nigeria lost the AWC diadem to Equatorial Guinea as unfortunate, told over the telephone on Sunday that the five-star performance of the six-time African champion could have earned each of the Falcons mention on the CAF list.

“It is an exciting thing, what happened to us in 2008 was a passing phase. Having watched the 2010 AWC, I know everybody commended the Nigerian team, so it would have been shocking if they did not get all the mention.”

The former Green Eagles coach who said our place is at the world cup however picked the former African women’s footballer of the year Perpetua Nkwocha ahead of others for the prestigious title, while at the same time he prefers the national Under-20 team for the women’s national team of the year award that has Equatorial Guinea and Nigeria’s senior women team.

“Perpetua is the best choice for the women footballer of the year. Her knack for goals, speed, experience and charisma stood her out. I will give it to her and that does not remove anything from other candidates.

“I will pick the Under-20 team for the women’s national team of the year. Majority of the present crop of Super Falcons are member of the Under-20 side. That is a personal choice, I think the place for us now to prove something is at the world stage, there is nothing for us to prove in Africa. We have to prepare well for the world,” he said.

The winners of the award will be announced at an award ceremony slated for Cairo, Egypt on December 11.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.