3. Read Recent News News

The Forum on Central African Power Pools ends

posted by – October 28th, 2013

The group of Central Africa Power Pools (PEAC, for its French acronym) is an institution that belongs to the Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS), which analyzes the implementation of policies, structures and electric energy-related services. This year marks the tenth anniversary of its creation, which was also commemorated at the meeting in Malabo.

The Prime Minister of the Government for Administrative Coordination, Vicente Ehate Tomi, on behalf of the President of the Republic, H.E. Obiang Nguema Mbasogo, presided over the closing ceremony of the event, which began with the presentation of the report including the recommendations of the speeches made by the experts of the group.

For example, the department of the Energy Commission of the African Union stressed the importance of African countries to work together and cooperate, for the interchange of labor in the electricity sector.

After the presentation of the report, they delivered the diplomas and gifts to the members of the PEAC. A representative of the attending delegations read the motion of thanks to the Head of State, Obiang Nguema Mbasogo, and to the Equatorial Guinean Government, for providing the necessary means for the perfect organization of this event.

For his part, Vicente Ehate Tomi stressed that the PEAC must share experiences with other regions of the African continent, because there are many challenges facing it in the task of electrifying the region and also to achieve competitiveness and promote strong economic growth in the economies of African countries in general, and of the central area in particular.

Also, the Prime Minister recalled the importance of the Heads of State of the ECCAS to grant funding for the operation of electricity projects, and recommended the PEAC to strive to streamline its energy resources.

Ehate Tomi ended his speech by saying that our country has initiated a major program of electrical power development that will help meet future needs and comply with the program of cross-border interconnection.

The following countries belong to the PEAC: Equatorial Guinea, Angola, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Congo, Gabon, Democratic Republic of Congo, Sao Tome and Principe and Chad.