3. Read Recent News News

EU GSP – Changes In Rules Of Origin From LDC Countries Incl. Bangladesh – Jan 2011

December 21st, 2010 by Sandeep Agarwal | Filed under Denim Reports.

EU has recently notified the changes in the rules of origin from certain LDC countries which will simplify the procedure of granting the GSP benefits to the exporting countries and will also benefit other countries involved in supplying raw materials to the country exporting the final product.

There are basically three formats under which EU provides GSP benefits to exporting countries :

  • The standard GSP, which provides preferences to 176 Developing Countries and Territories on over 6200 tariff lines; :
  • GSP + : The special incentive arrangement for sustainable development and good governance, known as GSP+, which offers additional tariff reductions to support vulnerable developing countries (currently 16) in their ratification and implementation of 27  international conventions in these areas;
  •  Everything But Arms (EBA) arrangement, which provides Duty-Free, Quota-Free access for all products for the 49 Least Developed Countries (LDCs). Under this arrangement , started in 2001, EU granted duty free access for all products except arms without any quantitative restrictions . These countries are :

Afghanistan  Angola  Bangladesh Benin  Bhutan Burkina Faso Burundi Cambodia  Cape Verde Central African Republic Chad  Comoros Islands (Islands)  Congo, Democratic Republic of  Djibouti  East Timor Equatorial Guinea Eritrea  Ethiopia  Gambia Guinea  Guinea-Bissau  Haiti  Kiribati  Laos  Lesotho  Liberia  Madagascar Malawi  Maldives  Mali  Mauritania  Mozambique  Nepal Niger  Rwanda  Samoa  São Tomé & Principe  Senegal  Sierra Leone  Solomon Islands  Somalia  Sudan  Tanzania  Tuvalu  Togo  Uganda  Vanuatu  Yemen  Zambia.


Read more >

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.