3. Read Recent News News

Equatorial Guinea elected for the Executive Board of UN Women

January 25th, 2013

In the first session of the meeting, held at the headquarters of the UN and in which the Ambassador-Permanent Representative of Uruguay to the UN was elected as President, took part his counterpart from Equatorial Guinea, Anatolio Ndong Mba, accompanied by the Third Secretary of the Permanent Mission,  Maria Jesus Diallo Besari.

During the meeting, the Executive Board analyzed its Draft Project of Annual Work for 2014, the Report of the Second Regular Session of 2013, held from September 16 to 18 in New York, and its Regulations Project, among other documents.

The Executive Board of UN Women is composed of representatives of 41 Member States, elected for three years by the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations, with the following regional distribution and number of member countries: Africa (10: Algeria, Djibouti, Gabon, Gambia, Equatorial Guinea, Malawi, Senegal, Somalia, South Africa and Togo); Asia-Pacific (10); Eastern Europe (4); Latin America and the Caribbean (6); Western European and other States (5); and other contributing countries (6).