3. Read Recent News News

AFRICOM maritime exercises

posted by – June 2nd, 2012

During June, the U.S. Africa Command will perform  naval exercises involving armed forces of some countries of the Economic Community of Central African States, among which is Equatorial Guinea.


This is the result of the last meeting held on May 22 between the American General Ham, Chief of the U.S. Africa Command (AFRICOM) and Clotilde Nizikama, Deputy Secretary General in charge of Programs, Budgets and Administration and Human Resources, representing the Secretary of the Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS).

At the meeting, in which they discussed military cooperation, they agreed to hold the annual multinational naval exercise in June, with the aim of supporting maritime security efforts in Zone D, which brings together Equatorial Guinea, Cameroon, Gabon and Sao Tomé and Principe.

The crisis that certain Member States of ECCAS are experiencing was another of the topics discussed, because it can compromise the stability of the region if the necessary measures are not taken. In this context, the collaboration of the United States and ECCAS is a priority.

In addition to Equatorial Guinea, Cameroon, Gabon and Sao Tome and Principe, the following countries are also part of ECCAS: Angola, Democratic Republic of Congo, Chad, Central African Republic, Burundi and Congo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.